A Song of Ice and Fire #4: A Feast for Crows by George R. R. Martin

Read: 26 June, 2012

The epic story continues… The throne belongs to a child, the queen reagent is paranoid and keeps making terrible choices, an ancient man and a newborn boy are forced to take a long and dangerous journey to escape a Red Woman looking for royal blood to sacrifice, a once just and proud woman is leading a band of ruthless outlaws in her quest for revenge, and winter is coming.

I noticed that identities are starting to become muddled in this volume. Chapter headings, which had previously been the names of the POV characters, now sometimes reflect assumed names or descriptions.

While the other books in the series have been framed by one-off POV characters who die at the end of their chapter, Feast for Crows ends instead with a note from the author, explaining that the book had grown too long and he was forced to cut it in half. It’s a shame, especially given the amount of time he’s been taking between each book, that he couldn’t have made it fit the pattern.

In any case, I’m very much looking forward to reading A Dance With Dragons, albeit a little scared that once I finish it, I will have to wait several years before getting the next instalment.

Buy A Feast for Crows from Amazon and support this blog!
Other books in the Song of Ice and Fire series:

  1. A Game of Thrones
  2. A Clash of Kings
  3. A Storm of Swords
  4. A Feast for Crows
  5. A Dance with Dragons
  6. The Winds of Winter
  7. A Dream of Spring

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *