Gil & Alys Cunningham Mystery #3: The Merchant’s Mark by Pat McIntosh

Read: 10 December, 2010

Gil Cunningham is eagerly awaiting a shipment of books. But when the barrel that was supposed to contain literature turns out to have a human head floating in brine instead, he and his companions become enmeshed in yet another mystery.

Another great addition to the series!

There’s a bit more supernatural stuff (a ghost this time), but it’s still manageable in quantity.

I like that Gil’s station changes between the books. Each book is an isolated mystery, of course, but the character development is continuous throughout the series. I’ve really enjoyed watching Gil’s relationship with Alys grow and change – which it does in a delightfully realistic and sensible way – as well as their accumulation of companions – first a baby, then a dog. I look forward to reading the next books in the series!

Buy The Merchant’s Mark from Amazon to support this blog!

Other books in the Gil & Alys Cunningham series:

  1. The Harper’s Quine
  2. The Nicholas Feast
  3. The Merchant’s Mark
  4. St. Mungo’s Robin
  5. The Rough Collier
  6. The Stolen Voice
  7. A Pig of Cold Poison

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *